Tuesday, December 09, 2014


Tanzania is a name of an East African country which originated from the union of two independent states, Tanganyika (Tanzania Mainland) and Zanzibar.  

Tanganyika got independence in 1961 and Zanzibar got her independence in 1963, then in 1964 the two independent states united to formulate one country named United Republic of Tanzania.

Tanganyika was under Germany domination since 1886 up to 1919, by then it was called German Eat Africa. After German being defeated in the First World War (1914-1918), Britain took over all Germany colonies in 1919 right after the First World War. In January 1920 Britain decided to change the name German East Africa to Tanganyika territory. This name originated for the biggest lake located in Western part of the country.

After being under Britain, then Tanganyika got her independence in the 9th of December, 1961.

Each year Tanzania has been celebrating independence day on 9th  of December to remember this special day and remind themselves of what have been done and what to be done so far for the betterment of the country.

No comments: