Monday, October 03, 2011

Denmark´s First Female Prime Minister with her new coalition cabinet

New Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt announced her new cabinet this morning. It includes 23 members split among the three coalition parties. Thorning-Schmidt’s own Social Democrat (S) party received eleven ministerial positions, and the Socialist People’s Party (SF) and the Social-Liberals (R) were given six each.
Not only will Denmark be governed by its first female prime minister, the country will also have its first minister with a non-Danish ethnic background in the Social Libs’ Manu Sareen, who has been tapped to be the church, gender equality, and Nordic co-operation minister.
Public broadcaster DR reports the list as follows:
Prime Minister: Helle Thorning-Schmidt (S)
Economy and Interior Minister: Margrethe Vestager (R)
Foreign Affairs Minister: Villy Søvndal (SF)
Finance Minister: Bjarne Corydon (S)
Justice Minister: Morten Bødskov (S)
Development Minister: Christian Friis Bach (R)
Science Minister*: Morten Østergaard (R)
Culture Minister: Uffe Elbæk (R)
Business and Growth Minister: Ole Sohn (SF)
Tax Minister: Thor Möger Pedersen (SF)
Defence Minister: Nick Hækkerup (S)
Social Affairs Minister: Karen Hækkerup (S)
Health Minister: Astrid Krag (SF)
European Affairs Minister: Nicolai Wammen (S)
Transportation Minister: Henrik Dam Kristensen (S)
Employment Minister: Mette Frederiksen (S)
Urban, Rural, and Housing Minister: Carsten Hansen (S) 
Environment Minister: Ida Auken (SF)
Climate Minister: Martin Lidegaard (R)
Children and Youth Minister: Christine Antorini (S)
Food, Agriculture and Fisheries Minister: Mette Gjerskov (S)
Export and Foreign Trade Minister: Pia Olsen Dyhr (SF)
Church, Gender Equality, and Nordic Co-operation Minister: Manu Sareen (R)
Source: The Copenhagen Post

No comments: