Friday, April 26, 2013

Today is 49th years of the union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar i.e Tanzania´s National Day - Leo ni miaka 49 ya Muungano wa Tanganyika na Zanzibar

Tanzania officially the United Republic of Tanzania (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania), is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; and Zambia,Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. The country's eastern border is formed by the Indian Ocean. Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest mountain, is in Tanzania.

Tanganyika became officially independent in  9th December 1961.

Zanzibar became independent in 1963. The Zanzibaris overthrew the Arab dynasty on 12th January 1964.

Tanganyika merged with Zanzibar on 26 April 1964 to form the nation of Tanzania.

No comments: